Division of Work and Areas of Responsibility

This plan is being pursued through work teams and advisory groups.

Integrating team

This team leads the project and coordinates the professional teams. It is headed by Prof. Shamay Assif and Prof. Michelle Portman, and includes Dr. Idan Porat, of the Technion’s Center for Urban and Regional Studies, Dr. Ellik Adler, Prof. Yuval Cohen, and a team from Ethos Architecture Planning & Environment: Alon Perelman, Barak Katz, and Tom Dror.

International Advisory Board

This advisory board includes eight advisors from Europe and the United States, marine managers and planners alongside academics, members of the private sector, and non-governmental organizations. The members of this board bring a wealth and variety of practical experience in marine spatial planning and management.

The International Advisory Board includes the following members:

Arch. Charles N. Ehler, President, Ocean Visions Consulting, France

Prof. Kate Johnson, ICIT Orkney Campus of Heriot-Watt University, Scotland, UK

Dr. Jens Enemark, Secretary Common Wadden Sea Secretariat, Germany

Prof. Vanessa Stelzenmüller, Centre for Environment Fisheries and Aquaculture Science, Germany

Mr. John Webber, Ocean Planning Director, the Northeast Regional Ocean Council (NROC), USA

Dr. Jeff Ardron, Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS), Germany

Dr. Priscilla Brooks, Vice-President and Director, Ocean Conservation, USA

Ms. Stephanie Moura, Managing Partner, Sea Plan, USA

Professional Scientific Advisory Board

This advisory board is composed of 12 renowned professional members of academia and government research institutes in Israel, including Israel Oceanographic and Limnological Research, Geological Survey of Israel, and Survey of Israel. The members of this board represent a variety of research fields related to ocean studies, including oceanography, biology, ecology, geology, environment and energy, engineering, cartography, security, and economics.

Multi-Disciplinary Consulting Team

This team is composed of 21 advisors from academia and the private sector representing 15 different disciplines: geology and geophysics; bathymetry and morphology; chemical oceanography; physical oceanography; marine biology; marine archeology; fishing and marine agriculture; energy; marine transportation; artificial islands; marine engineering and infrastructure facilities at sea; the law and jurisprudence of security; economics; and climate change.

Researchers and Graduate Students Team

This team comprises five researchers.